Iran Inside Out
Influences of Homeland and Diaspora on the Artistic Language of 56 Contemporary Iranian Artists
15 March – 15 June 2010
24 September – 22 November 2009
New York, USA
26 June – 05 September 2009
Image gallery
A formalistic comparison of artists based inside Iran and those having lived in the Diaspora since the Iranian Revolution of 1979.

Iran Inside Out is a groundbreaking exhibition featuring 35 artists living and working in Iran, some exhibiting abroad for the first time, alongside 21 others from around the world living in the Diaspora. The result is a multifarious portrait of 56 contemporary Iranian artists challenging the conventional perceptions of Iran and Iranian art. The exhibition comprises more than 200 contemporary artworks comprising of painting, sculpture, photography, video and installation come together, in a rare moment, which allows visitors an intimate look into the people, both inside and outside a country that is more complex than images of veiled women, worn out calligraphy and what a handful of other emblematic images would suggest.


Iran Inside Out is an examination of the means through which a young generation of artists is reconciling the daily implications of cultural and geographical distances with the search for individual artistic expression. The exhibition, explores the process of deconstruction and reinvention of both, self and art that has resulted from this cultural schism, often swinging between openness and dialogue, or seclusion and separatism. It places its focus on a new generation, offering an unexpected insight into the artistic energy of a culture that is constantly coming of age.


Artists Outside Iran: Samira Abbassy, Negar Ahkami, Shiva Ahmadi, Roya Akhavan, Shoja Azari, caraballo–farman, Kamran Diba, Ala Ebtekar, Shahram Entekhabi, Parastou Forouhar, Alireza Ghandchi, Pouran Jinchi, Shahram Karimi, Pooneh Maghazehe, Shirin Neshat, Nicky Nodjoumi, Leila Pazooki, Nazanin Pouyandeh, Sara Rahbar, Mitra Tabrizian, and Darius Yektai


Artists Inside Iran: Shirin Aliabadi, Nazgol Ansarinia, Mahmoud Bakhshi Moakher, Saghar Daeeri, Alireza Dayani, Reza Derakshani, Shirin Fakhim, Mehdi Farhadian, Golnaz Fathi, Bita Fayyazi, Siamak Filizadeh, Shahab Fotouhi, Daryoush Gharahzad, Barbad Golshiri, Ramin Haerizadeh, Rokni Haerizadeh, Arash Hanaei, Khosrow Hassanzadeh, Abbas Kowsari, Behdad Lahooti, Farideh Lashai, Majid Ma’soomi Rad, Amir Mobed, Ahmad Morshedloo, Houman Mortazavi, Farhad Moshiri, Siavash Naghshbandi, Reza Paydari, Behrang Samadzadegan, Arash Sedaghatkish, Vahid Sharifian, Arman Stepanian, Jinoos Taghizadeh, Newsha Tavakolian, and Sadegh Tirafkan

Back to Top